Movies We Love: The Godfather

by Herschel

This week marks the 40th anniversary of The Godfather, which is in this person’s opinion, one of the greatest films ever made. Much can and already has been said in praise of the film. From the timeless story to the beautiful cinematography, the movie changed the culture around it.

I can think of many reasons why I love it, but the number one reason I love it is how personal it is to me. I remember a few years back I made the comment to my dad that I hadn’t seen it. The next day he had it on DVD and we sat down and watched it together. It is a movie he loves and wanted to share. I try to share it with people as well.

I also love the ways you see the affects of sin and betrayal weave in and out of the Corleone family through out the series. Sin isn’t treated lightly in the film. Actions often have grave consequences. There is a real sense of urgency to the story.

And the more you watch it, the better it gets. So if you haven’t seen it yet, or have seen it a hundred times, you ought to take a day this next week and watch it again. Trust me, it’s worth it.

20120318-131007.jpg

What do you love about The Godfather?

